language express

take the free linguistic ride

School is out (for summer)!

MAAL / MAELT On Monday I had the last class of the MA Applied Linguistics in Reading. Still have to work on one assignment and dissertation, so still feeling student-like. And the Applied Linguistics Study Group is keeping the spirit alive for the summer, which is great.

Some random thoughts about the academic programme:

Did I enjoy it? I surely did.

Do I think it will help me find a better job / go on with a PhD? I doubt it.

Bits I liked best? My colleagues, the library, few courses (Discourse Analysis, Psycholinguistics in particular) the Thames in the evening, being a student again.

Bits I did not particularly enjoy? Some tutors could have put more effort into it, I know they have the potential to do so; I also think there are other unis that could have delivered a much better programme for my specific needs.

June 23, 2009 - Posted by | education, personal

4 Comments »

  1. Hi,it looks like a very sophisticated blog!
    I know what you are thinking about to some extent ’cause I have such kind of issues which drive me mad sometimes.
    Anyway you can do anything you want. Trust your potentiality!

    Comment by Taka | June 24, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi daniboy

    I really like the layout and style of your blog!

    Do you really feel like the course will not help you with your career or further research? For me, I think it will help with both. like you say there may have been better places to do the course, but I definitely feel it will help me get a job and do further research if I decide to. It has given me a great deal of confidence, a chance to improve my communication skills (especially spoken, through presentations, taking part in student-staff committee etc)and loads of knowledge of the subject.

    Keep blogging!
    Ralel

    Comment by Ralel | June 25, 2009 | Reply

    • tx for the comment, Ralel,

      Well, I said “I doubt it”, ‘cos that’s my sceptical nature, so that I can get really happy and excited when things go well.

      Comment by daniboy | June 25, 2009 | Reply

      • Ok, good tactic! I have used it myself quite a few times.

        Comment by Ralel | June 27, 2009


Leave a Reply

